Can I help my wife? Work Permit.

My Thai wife has a small restaurant under her name. 

She's the only employee and clears approximately  50,000 baht per month 

She pays her taxes every year and contributes into social security every month.

I'm a Chef by trade and want to start helping her in the kitchen. 

Can she hire me as an employee, and if so would I be able to get a work permit? 

Edited by lucky2008
  • Haha 1

9 minutes ago, ubonjoe said:

Are you on a extension of stay based upon marriage? If yes and her business is registered as a sole proprietor it is possible for you to apply for a work permit.

She would need to ask the local work permit office what is required since it can vary from office to office.

It can also be done if you and your wife form a 51/49% partnership with 1 million baht of registered capital.

Yes I am on a extension of stay based upon marriage. 

I want to avoid going down the 51/49% partnership with 1 million baht of registered capital route. 

This is interesting bet there would be a lot of guys interested in this. Explains why sometime I have seen a farang openly selling at a stall etc. I assume it has to be a marriage visa? I am on a parent of a Thai child visa. And getting the work permit doesn't mean you have to change your visa type or class same as say a teacher working here? Was talking to a mate before and he had one of these working in Phuket with his wife and said you are very limited as to what you can do on a marriage work permit. Maybe only go and get supplies etc? I wonder if you can cook in the restaurant....work front of house etc? What sort of tasks can you do?

4 hours ago, ubonjoe said:

You can work for any of the allowed professions.That does include teaching.