UK State Pension for expats in Thailand - Paying Income Tax on the non existant yearly increases !!!

Low and behold yet another year when i have to contact the HMRC to inform them that my increase in income and subsequently taxation on my state pension is incorrect as i'm a resident of Thailand and consequently don't receive any state pension yearly increases.

No problem getting it sorted with the resultant tax refund but i asked the question ''Why am i being subjected to this aggro when you and the DWP have my Thailand address and clearly know i am not receiving any increases'' ?

His reply, ''we only act on what information is supplied to us by the DWP'', he suggested i contact the DWP and inform them of what they already know ie i'm a Thailand resident and you have my Thai address so i obviously don't receive any pension increases and request to know why they are informing the HMRC each year that my state pension income has increased when it clearly has'nt.

Now my next step is to contact the DWP for an explanation as to their idiotic behaviour, i won't be holding my breath lol

Anyone else having this problem and if so what explanation was given to you by the DWP for their ridiculous behaviour.

Rant over lol

• Like 2

The same has happened to me in the past but for some reason my tax assessment for this current year showed no increase in that pension. I do agree, you would think that in this day and age these government departments would be a bit more joined up. We are the victims of these anomalous and convoluted arrangements which pay no increases in some countries but do pay them in others, and we are so insignificant that they can't be bothered to sit down and programme their systems to take account of that.

• Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

3 minutes ago, mikebell said:

They add up all your income & the State pension is considered as part of it.  This may put you in a higher tax bracket.