New inverter a/c daikin not very cool...I'm baffled

Sheryl

Not sure which forum is best place for this so will try here.

I recently replaced 2 very old a/cs (20 years, became very nois, multiple times repaired  and were consuming huge amounts of electricity). They were Daikin, replaced with Daikin but this time Daikin inverter. It is my first time with inverter type a/c and I am shocked at how un-cold they are and also how weak the air flow seems. Is this normal?  Even at lowest possible temp setting/highest power setting the air that comes out is far from cold. Cool yes but not cold and it does not cool the rooms anywhere near as well as what I am used to.

In the bedroom I replaced a 9000 BTU with as 12,500 BTU, so not a BTU issue. At maximum cold setting it is bearable now (but just bearable; I'd like it colder) but  I worry about what will happen in the  hottest months.

in the living room I replaced what I think was a 29,000 BTU (that seemed more than needed) with a 24,200 BTU so possibly not enough BTU (it is  a hard call as it is an open floor plan with 1 other unit at the other end) but that aside, even putting my hand right up against it, just (a) not that cold and (b) not blowing very hard.

Is this usual with inverter models? I am thinking of exchanging these but if I do, not sure what I should get? the old (non-inverter) Daikins were great for a good 15 years.

Not using dry mode. I do know the difference.

I already called the "chang" who installed it back once to re-install/top off the gas. Didn't seem to make a difference.

From what you all say then, this is not usual.  There is some cooling, but nowhere near what I expect.

I guess next step is to call the company. How does one locate and call a "Daikin engineer"?  The main company office?

All I can think of is that something is wrong with the temperature sensor. The larger unit was on sale at a surprisingly low discount, which adds some worry as to the model maybe having some problem.

• Like 2