Cruise Control - What's the Point?

upSo, one thread was talking about how cruise control was an issue with buying a new vehicle which triggered one of my pet peeves. In the states you're in the fast lane and always a numnuts in front going just a tad over speed limit but not fast enough for fast lane. Why? because he's to <deleted> lazy to keep his foot on the gas pedal and drive in next lane.

I've been driving for many years and could never see the upside to cruise control, never use it. My thought is if you're too <deleted> lazy to keep your foot on a pedal you have no business driving. You loose the feel for what's going on around you.

In Thailand it's even more idiotic to use it. Upcountry, it's totally useless and on tollroads its equally dangerous because you're driving so much faster, and you loose focus with cruise control.

Keep your eyes on the road and your hands upon the wheel..........

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply
37 minutes ago, thehelmsman said:

In the states you're in the fast lane and always a numnuts in front going just a tad over speed limit but not fast enough for fast lane.

You're saying that in the USA you must drive over the speed limit?

'a tad over the speed limit' isn't fast enough to qualify for an overtaking manoeuvre? 

I'm looking forward to the day when vehicles will have built in speed controls to stop idiots thinking that they're so clever and skilled as drivers that people driving at speed limits become mere annoyances.

Cruising speed limits are about limiting excessive fuel consumption and improving safety. Safety on highways comes from people all travelling in the same direction AT SIMILAR SPEEDS. 

Americans complaining like this aren't going to win any friends - they're famous for being fat gas guzzling fools at the best of times. They still think that getting over 10km/L is good efficiency.