Galvanized steel vs. regular steel

EVENKEEL

I know if I get a quote for a job building a porch area with materials included they will use cheapest materials like galvanized. I did a 6Mx7M car port and I went with builder to pick out the steel and paid labor separate.

I haven't priced the galvanized steel, and strength of build is more a consideration than price of materials.

• Confused 1

13 minutes ago, Woof999 said:

I'm not an expert by any stretch, but galvanised steel is there for rust protection primarily, not for strength. Personally I'd be going with concrete column to closer match the architecture of the house, depending on what that is.

Galvanized is just as strong but here it is cold galv. coating and needs 2 coats of sliver gloss paint, on top, it will never rust. can always bolt direct to concrete base.

IMG_20230812_094433.thumb.jpg.a5b9f6f42e80bc220dc189b94e70bc9e.jpg

• Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

5 minutes ago, OneMoreFarang said:

As far as I know there are special rules when and how to paint galvanized steel. 

But you don't have to paint it.

So, if you want to paint it, better do some research.

The following is a good site to get an overview of available materials and cost:

https://www.onestockhome.com/en

Best not weld it if painting aint on the plans.

• Thumbs Up 1

53 minutes ago, EVENKEEL said:

they will use cheapest materials like galvanized.

why is galvanized the cheapest, it is additional coating that must increase the cost

I think you may be confusing two different weights of steel with the lighter weight galvanized.

Nominal dimensioned steel here is sold in different weights for the same dimensions.  More weight more strength.

1 minute ago, Dante99 said:

why is galvanized the cheapest, it is additional coating that must increase the cost

I think you may be confusing two different weights of steel with the lighter weight galvanized.