New E-Gates for Thai Passports Debut at Suvarnabhumi Airport

webfact

I went through Suvarnabhumi last Wednesday at 11 PM and was shocked that there was practically no line at Immigration. Each Immigration line only had 1 or 2 persons waiting. I've been coming here for 10 years and never saw it like that. Normally it can be a 30 minute wait. I don't know why it was like that but I hope it lasts!

My work colleague, an American farang, had a white-coloured Thailand Certificate of Residence book that he would show Thai Immigration whenever he was exiting or entering Thailand. Our business travel was extensive and we would often travel together but I only had a one year Business Visa, extended annually. 

One would think that my colleague would pass through Thai immigration much quicker than I but the opposite was true. Why? Because Thai immigration officers were so unfamiliar with the "white book" that my colleague had and so were not quite sure what to do. Typically they had to call for their superior to come sort it out.

This hassle put me off for applying for Thai residency.

• Love It 1

This auto system does not work for me at arrivals in Heathrow . Then , after waiting to use the auto system which failed for me I was told to join the back of the long zig zag  queues for the I/O p/p control . 

These auto systems are a pain ( even when checking in at Heathrow ) and a staff member often has to help . 

In a similar way , UK supermarkets and DIY stores are using a self service check out that often has long queues , to cut back on staffing levels . I have seen customers leave their shopping trolleys , rather than use these auto systems .

There is often confusion from infrequent users and the elderly .

If these systems break down there is mayhem with literally thousands of travelers stranded and the lack of I/Os means that there are delays at PP control of 5, 6, 7 hours as happened at Heathrow last year . 

Expensive and not necessary , just employ more staff .