Diarrhea Frequency & Treatment in SE Asia

I have been traveling SE Asia for almost 2 years now. I rarely, if ever, got diarrhea in the United States or Australia, yet I seem to get a nasty case about every 6 weeks or so while in Asia, whether in Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, etc. I take precautions and generally avoid street food, always wash hands with soap and then dry thoroughly before eating and after using the washroom.

I'm curious how often other long-term Western visitors or expats here in Asia get diarrhea, how long it typically lasts for you, and what you have found to be the best treatment, generally.

Thanks!

• Thanks 1

6 minutes ago, AsiaTraveler1234 said:

I have been traveling SE Asia for almost 2 years now. I rarely, if ever, got diarrhea in the United States or Australia, yet I seem to get a nasty case about every 6 weeks or so while in Asia, whether in Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, etc. I take precautions and generally avoid street food, always wash hands with soap and then dry thoroughly before eating and after using the washroom.

I'm curious how often other long-term Western visitors or expats here in Asia get diarrhea, how long it typically lasts for you, and what you have found to be the best treatment, generally.

Thanks!

Once in 30 years.....but it led to three nights in hospital.

My sister visited for a week, only time she's been, ended up being flown back to the UK half-conscious and was ill for a month.....salmonella.

It is in the lap of the gods I guess.

• Confused 2
  • Sad 1

2 minutes ago, Dan O said:

Take charcoal capsuls as they absorb the nasty bugs in your stomach and allow you to rid yourself from them. Immodium will help stop the "action" but that just keeps the bugs in your gut and may prolong the experience 

The immodium bit makes sense.